top of page
Search
  • joshcutts

Pythagoras - right angled or not?

Jo Morgan's session on teaching for greater depth was the kick up the backside I needed to share some of these tasks I've been using with Pythagoras. Like Jo I also take a whole lesson to teach students about how to use Pythagoras to decide whether or not a triangle is right angled or not.


We begin quite early on with being given 3 squares that create a triangle and using the areas of these squares to decide on whether or not the triangle in the centre would be right-angled.



After this we do some practice with triangles and lengths given - you can find these sorts of activities anywhere so I'll skip to sharing what I then move on to.

I sat and created some questions tying in area/perimeter and compound shapes to push students to think about what they need to know in order to show whether or not a triangle is right angled or not.




119 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page